Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

Websites
related space history websites

2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008
2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002

Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun
Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec

October 2, 2012 / 5:00 a.m. CT (1000 GMT)
Journey with Atlantis: NASA's final space shuttle delivery is just one month away. The space shuttle Atlantis, riding atop the space agency's 76-wheel Orbiter Transport System (OTS), will travel the 10 miles from Kennedy Space Center's Vehicle Assembly Building to the center's visitor complex on Nov. 2. The public can witness Atlantis arriving at its $100 million exhibit, and see and photograph the shuttle from all sides, with tickets to the "Celebrate the Journey" event, now being offered by the visitor complex.

October 3, 2012 / 8:02 a.m. CT (1302 GMT)
Sigma 7 at 50: 50 years ago, Wally Schirra became the fifth American in space, making the third of four orbital flights of the Mercury program. Schirra piloted the Sigma 7 ("Σ7") capsule on a six-orbit flight that lasted more than nine hours on Oct. 3, 1962. To mark the anniversary, Retro Space Images has selected photos from its recently released collection of Mercury-Atlas 8 imagery to recall the flight of Wally Schirra aboard Sigma 7 half a century later.

October 4, 2012 / 7:23 a.m. CT (1223 GMT)
Magnus Crepitus Theoria: Only seen for at most a few seconds on screen, the mission patch created for the fictional space crew on the CBS hit television series "The Big Bang Theory" serves as an example of the details the show pursued in recreating and where possible, renting the spacecraft, space station and equipment used to send Howard Wolowitz (Simon Helberg) into orbit. collectSPACE spoke with John Shaffner, the show's production designer, and set decorator Ann Shea for the behind-the-scenes look at how the International Space Station landed on a Warner Bros. Studio sound stage in Burbank, California.

October 4, 2012 / 1:27 p.m. CT (1827 GMT)
Patch preview | SpaceX CRS-1: Scheduled to lift off Sunday night, SpaceX's first (out of a dozen) NASA-contracted supply flights to the International Space Station now has its own mission patch. Released Thursday, the Commercial Resupply Services 1 (CRS-1) insignia borrows its gumdrop shape from the Dragon capsule set to deliver nearly 900 pounds of science experiments and supplies.

October 5, 2012 / 8:02 p.m. CT (0100 GMT Oct 6)
One year in space: In December 1988, two Russian cosmonauts returned to Earth after orbiting the planet on the space station Mir for 365 days and 23 hours, the first time any crew had spent a year in space. Since then, only two cosmonauts have completed a revolution around the Sun while circling the Earth. As announced by NASA on Friday, two more space travelers, a U.S. astronaut and a Russian cosmonaut, will join the year-in-space 'club' in 2015, onboard the International Space Station (ISS).

October 6, 2012 / 10:27 p.m. CT (0327 GMT Oct 7)
Ice cream for ISS: Weather permitting, the first of 12 NASA-contracted SpaceX Dragon cargo capsules will launch Sunday to supply the International Space Station. The mission includes the first freezer to fly on the Dragon to support science experiments. The mini-fridge will launch packed with more than just test tubes, however; it will also keep cold Blue Bell Sundae Ice Cream Cups, as a treat for the space station's Expedition 33 crew members.

October 7, 2012 / 7:45 p.m. CT (0035 GMT Oct 8)
Era of commercial spaceflight: Lighting up the evening skies over Florida, Sunday's lift off of SpaceX's Falcon 9 rocket with a cargo filled Dragon spacecraft marked the dawning of a new era of commercial spaceflight. The Commercial Resupply Services-1 (CRS-1) flight is the first NASA-contracted cargo mission to the International Space Station. Flying on the Dragon are more than 800 pounds of science experiments, crew supplies and equipment for the orbiting laboratory's ISS Expedition 33 crew members.

October 8, 2012 / 2:57 p.m. CT (1957 GMT)
The Big Endeavour: Later this week, space shuttle Endeavour will embark on a two-day, 12-mile (19 km) road trip through the streets of Los Angeles and Inglewood on its way to the California Science Center. "Mission 26: The Big Endeavour," as the journey has been dubbed, will see the shuttle moved on top a modified NASA transporter and towed by a Toyota Tundra over the 405 freeway. Tens of thousands of spectators are expected to turn out to see Endeavour arrive at the CSC, where it will go on display.

October 10, 2012 / 12:44 p.m. CT (1744 GMT)
Soprano into space: Global recording artist and UNESCO Artist for Peace Ambassador, Sarah Brightman, announced Wednesday in Moscow her intention to launch on a Soyuz mission to the International Space Station in partnership with Space Adventures, Ltd. During her 10-day tenure on board the space station, Brightman will advocate for UNESCO's mandate to promote peace and sustainable development to safeguard our planet's future. She plans to begin six months of training following a yearlong world tour promoting her new classical music album, "Dreamchaser."

October 12, 2012 / 4:53 a.m. CT (0953 GMT)
Endeavour embarks: Early Friday morning, the space shuttle Endeavour departed on its final journey, a two-day 12-mile (19 km) road trip that will take it to the California Science Center for display. Friday's leg covers the 3 miles between Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) and crossing over the 405 freeway. The trip will formally launch Saturday as "Mission 26: The Big Endeavour" moves from The Forum in Inglewood to the science center in L.A.

October 13, 2012 / 2:29 a.m. CT (0729 GMT)
105 crosses the 405: OV-105, better known as space shuttle Endeavour, ended its first day on the road to its new display home at the California Science Center (CSC) with a truck-assisted tow over the 405 Freeway. A professional stuntman, Matt McBride, together with former NASA astronaut Garrett Reisman drove the stock Toyota Tundra pickup truck, which was recruited to better balance the weight over the bridge. Endeavour is slated to arrive at the CSC on Saturday evening, ending its 12 mile journey.

October 13, 2012 / 1:22 p.m. CT (1822 GMT)
Landing day for Mission 26: Space shuttle Endeavour was formally launched on its last journey Saturday morning at The Forum, the former indoor arena of the L.A. Lakers, with a star studded send-off. Apollo 7 astronaut Walt Cunningham joined Hollywood "space traveler" June Lockhart of "Lost in Space" for a public ceremony marking the last day of "Mission 26," Endeavour's 12-mile road trip to the California Science Center (CSC) for its display.

October 14, 2012 / 5:47 p.m. CT (2047 GMT)
Endeavour enters its new home: Though it took almost a full extra day to arrive, space shuttle Endeavour was safely transported to the California Science Center's new Samuel Oschin Display Pavilion on Sunday morning. Narrow clearances between the orbiter's wings and signs, trees and buildings along the last 3 mile stretch of its 12 mile road trip through Los Angeles pushed its planned two day delivery to three. The late arrival won't postpone the opening of Endeavour's pavilion, which is set for Oct. 30.

October 16, 2012 / 10:15 a.m. CT (1515 GMT)
'Mission 26' in photos: The final journey of space shuttle Endeavour may have been its shortest mission, but it also is very likely its most documented. Millions of spectators not only were there to see Endeavour's road trip through Los Angeles, but also photograph it with just about every image recording device imaginable, from cell phone to Hollywood 3D camera. To capture this not just once in a lifetime, but "once" event, collectSPACE presents a photo gallery or more than 150 images showing Endeavour from the start to finish of its three-day, 12-mile "Mission 26."

October 18, 2012 / 11:56 a.m. CT (1656 GMT)
Last one out: Space shuttle Atlantis moved from its orbiter processing facility (OPF) into a high bay in the Vehicle Assembly Building at the Kennedy Space Center Wednesday to await its Nov. 2 delivery to the nearby visitor complex for display. The last of NASA's retired orbiters to still be in Florida, Atlantis' rollover was also the final time a shuttle occupied one of the three OPF hangars that earlier were used to ready the orbiters for their next spaceflights.

October 19, 2012 / 11:18 p.m. CT (0418 GMT Oct 20)
"Mission 26" memento: Almost as soon as the first "Shuttle Xing" traffic sign was seen along space shuttle Endeavour's route to the California Science Center, there were those who wanted one as souvenir. Now they can, thanks to the signs' creator, Traffic Management, Inc.. The traffic control company is now offering the signs for sale in various sizes, from a foot to the full scale four feet wide.

October 22, 2012 / 10:11 a.m. CT (1511 GMT) - UPDATED
Suni in space: collectSPACE spoke Friday with International Space Station commander Sunita "Suni" Williams about life aboard the orbiting outpost. Flying 250 miles above the Earth off the northeastern coast of Australia, Williams shared her thoughts about life in microgravity, her next spacewalk and her soon-to-arrive crew mates (as well as the live fish they are bringing with them). Williams also spoke about the lessons for future space exploration from the past 12 years of continuous occupancy on the ISS.

October 23, 2012 / 8:08 a.m. CT (1308 GMT)
New start: NASA astronaut Kevin Ford and Roscosmos cosmonauts Oleg Novitskiy and Evgeny Tarelkin lifted off Tuesday on board Russia's Soyuz TMA-06M spacecraft for the International Space Station (ISS). The three launched off of Pad 6 at the Baikonur Cosmodrome's Site 31, marking the first time in nearly three decades the pad has been used for human spaceflight. Riding with the crew are 32 live fish as part of a study into osteoporosis.

October 26, 2012 / 2:35 a.m. CT (0735 GMT)
Roll and rise: Space shuttle Atlantis is just one week away from making its final journey as it rolls over to the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex in Florida for public display. The 12-hour, 9.8 mile trip will end as Atlantis enters its new $100 million exhibit building, but the work to display the shuttle won't end there. Inside, Atlantis' motion will change direction, as it is then lifted 36 feet into the air and tilted 43.21 degrees to one side. When it opens in July 2013, the exhibit will give visitors a chance to see Atlantis as it looked while orbiting the Earth on its 33 missions.

October 29, 2012 / 2:35 p.m. CT (1935 GMT)
Treats in space: "Halloween happens to be one of my favorite holidays just because it's a lot of fun, people act goofy — and there is always candy involved," International Space Station commander Suni Williams said in an interview with collectSPACE. Just her (and her Expedition 33 crewmates') luck, a Russian Progress cargo spacecraft is scheduled to arrive at the orbiting outpost on Halloween, perhaps with a treat or two aboard. But then again, there's already a good bit of candy stashed on the space station.

October 30, 2012 / 5:26 p.m. CT (2226 GMT)
Enterprise exposed: 'Superstorm' Sandy, a former hurricane now categorized as a post- tropical cyclone, damaged the space shuttle Enterprise's pressurized pavilion on Monday as it passed over New York City. The 1970s prototype for NASA's shuttle fleet, Enterprise has been on public display at the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum, a converted aircraft carrier, since July. The storm appears to have also damaged Enterprise's vertical stabilizer, or tail.

October 31, 2012 / 2:57 p.m. CT (1957 GMT)
Endeavour on exhibit: On Tuesday, space shuttle Endeavour opened on display at the California Science Center (CSC), following a ceremony held underneath the retired NASA orbiter for invited guests and schoolchildren. The commemoration, which was emceed by Bill Nye, "The Science Guy," marked the culmination of Endeavour's long journey 'home' and the start of its new mission to inspire a new generation of scientists, engineers and explorers.


back to collectSPACE

© 1999-2014 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.